Content Areas

Alternative Certification of Educators (ACE)

Before applying to the ACE Program, you need to complete your TExES content area exam. This means that you need to choose the area in which you would like to teach, then demonstrate your knowledge in this area by passing the state's content area certification test under the PACT rule.

(This is different from the state's PPR test, which you will take later to demonstrate your knowledge of teaching techniques. See our steps page for details on this.)

Certification areas

Early Childhood–Grade 6

Grades 4–8

Grades 7–12

Early Childhood–Grade 12